Understanding The Xero Integration

You are here: Learning CentreTutorialsAppsUnderstanding The Xero Integration

Understanding The Xero Integration

Your website will need to include the complete functionality of Synergy 8 (Marketing & Commerce). An easy way to determine whether you have this plan enabled is to look for the "Commerce" and "Marketing" links on the sidebar of the dashboard.

Upgrading your plan is a very easy process and normally instant, simply contact us.

Logging in to your Xero account before enabling the integration will also make the below steps easier. If you don't already have a Xero account, you can sign up for one on the Xero website: www.xero.com

What does it Sync?

The Xero integration works by synchronising the following information:

From Synergy 8 From Xero
Contacts
  • Only contacts with sales are pushed into Xero.
  • Changing a contact's details in any part of Synergy 8 will also update in Xero.
  • Deleting a contact will not delete them in Xero.
Contacts
  • Only Customer Contacts within Xero's contacts are pulled into Synergy 8
  • Any change to contact details of customers will be reflected in Synergy 8.
  • Deleting a contact will not remove them from Synergy 8
Sales
  • All sales in Synergy 8 are pushed into Xero
  • Changing particulars of a sale are pushed to Xero
  • Deleting a sale will not delete the invoice in Xero
Invoices
  • All invoices are pulled into Synergy 8. 
  • This allows you to perform marketing based on Xero sales data.
  • Changes to invoices in Xero will be reflected in Synergy 8
  • Deleting an invoice in Xero will not delete the invoice in Synergy 8.
Receipts
  • Depending on the Payment Method Configuration, receipts will create payments in Synergy 8.
  • Deletion of receipts will not delete in Xero.
Payments
  • Depending on the Payment Method Configuration, receipts will create payments in Synergy 8.
  • This allows for direct deposit payments to be easily reconciled from the bank feed.
  • Deletion of payments will not delete in Synergy 8.


Note: Because deletions are not reflected in either system, you may need to delete entries in both systems.

When Does it Sync?

You can choose to enable or disable automatic synchronisation within the Xero integration configuration page.

Synergy 8 will batch-sync with Xero two minutes after an update takes place within Synergy 8.

For instance, if you updated a member's email address at 2:00pm, and then an invoice is created at 2:03pm.  Both changes would be reflected at 2:04pm within Xero.

If no update takes place in Synergy 8, a scheduled sync will take place after one day to download data from Xero.

Need Help? 

Contact Support